Page 1 of 1

"Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:36 am
by cwensk
Customer sent me an email and stated he is getting a Login Error when he goes into setup.
He doesn't state if he had ATT store activate card or not.
I am trying to help him resolve this issue but without knowing what he has or hasn't done puts me at a loss.
What could the problem be? I am thinking the SIM wasn't activated correctly or he has missed some perameters on setup.
I have sent him a return email asking for more info, but would like to pick your brains also.
I know there are guys out there with way more knowledge on this subject than I have.
My setups went without a hitch, so I don't know what the problem could be.
Any help appreciated.
Carl

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:16 am
by mpt49
Carl,

I am the person you are trying to assist. I just happened to be on her looking for answers as well. To start off answering some of your questions. Yes I have gone to AT&T twice since starting this journey with the new camera. I went thought the setup and followed it to the letter. I am going to describe how I have done this so you can critique and see any flaws in my process. Like I said went and activated my SIM card at AT&T. I then came back and downloaded the setup file on my SD card. I took it from my camera and placed it in the computer opened the zip file and decompressed it. I then had the UOV setup file open and set the parameters on my computer. I then went to the SD card and erased the .zip file. The two files I have on the card are as follows:
1. DCIM
2. GSM
subfile: MMS.DAT
subfile: PROFILE.DAT
The profile data is as follows:
Send mode: "instant" max number: "00"
Send via: "MMS"
Operator parameter: "United States" ; "AT&T"
Recipients: "##########" my 10 digit phone number and my email address
Rename: "off"
Max size: "60"

I have done this so you can critique and see any flaws in my process. Like I said went and activated my SIM card at AT&T. I then came back and downloaded the setup file on my SD card. I took it from my camera and placed it in the computer opened the zip file and decompressed it. I then had the UOV setup file open and set the parameters on my computer. I then went to the SD card and erased the .zip file. The two files I have remaining on the SDcard are as follows:
1. DCIM
2. GSM
subfile: MMS.DAT
subfile: PROFILE.DAT
The profile data is as follows:
Send mode: "instant" max number: "00"
Send via: "MMS"
Send to: "Both"
Operator parameter: "United States" ; "AT&T"
Recipients: "##########" my 10 digit phone number and my email address
Rename: "off"
Max size: "60"
I placed the SD card back in the camera and it up loaded like it was supposed to but then says "Checking" in red letters in middle of the viewing camera. It then switches to "Search Network" in red letters. It does this for 10 seconds and then in the top of the viewing screen it says "Login Fail". I am very perplexed as to why this will not work I am hoping you will be able to see something I am not in my setup.

Aside, when I took the SIM card back to AT&T to make sure it was correct they gave it back to me and I put it in the camera while I was there. I did get the same result "Login fail" but in the right corner I did see where I had 1 bar of signal where in my house I did not. I do not think it has anything to do with my signal due to I live in the middle of my town and we have good signal at the house. However, I want to give as much information as I can to attempt to correct this matter.

Thanks,

MPT49

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:45 pm
by Ol Arky
Ya might try a different SD card...

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:16 pm
by cwensk
Stephen,
From what you've posted, Here are a few suggestions.
Find the zip file and open it.Instant is correct as is MMS, On max number put in 99. If sending to both phone and email select both and add in info.
Then select a location on PC where you can find file again. I use desktop
Then Format the SD card in your PC(right click on drive that has SD and select Format from list)
Now go back to location of file and find "Profile.dat" right click on file and select send to=
send it to your sd drive.(the freshly formatted one) That will put file in root directory of SD card.
Remove SD card from PC and put in cam, switch to setup and wait on file upload. It will say in red letters "Update Success" when finished.
If ATT activated card and setup acct correctly and all of this has been done. It should work, if not it is probably that the signal strength is too weak.
Send me your phone # in a Private Message.
Thanks ,Carl
Also sent email

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 11:56 pm
by T-post
A few quick thoughts:

Put the SIM in an AT&T phone and verify that it can send a text message.

If the SIM does work in the phone, then we can move on to trouble shooting the camera.
Navigate through the camera menus and turn OFF the transmit feature (I don't have my camera in front of me to look at the exact wording), then navigate to the menu option to format the SD card and format the card (having the camera format the card ensures that the correct format is on the card, whereas using your computer to format could possibly result in the incorrect format). Now navigate to Download Tool and download just as you have previously. Continue just as you have described doing in your previous post. I suggest that you initially just have the camera send to your phone and not to your email (the objective here is to remove possible variables of malfunction).

After you've inserted the SD card with the file on it, turn on the camera, it should say "Update Successful" and then hopefully you"ll see the red text cycle through without the error message.

Notice that the difference here is that I had you switch the transmit option to OFF prior to downloading the data file from the SD card. The camera will automatically switch on the transmit option after downloading the SD card file. I'm of the opinion that the data file on the SD card will not properly download and write over any old data unless the transmit option has been turned OFF prior to the download of the new data file.

ALso do all this where you know the is a strong cell signal.

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:03 am
by T-post
One other thing.

When you enter the parameters using your computer; the Recipients phone number should have a 1 in front of the area code and no hyphens in the number.

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:05 pm
by sotex
I got this same error; however, mine corrected itself once I turned the camera off for 5 minutes and turned it back on and switched to set up. It processed through its checks and located the 6 numeral code.

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 7:10 pm
by cwensk
It was a bad cam. I replaced it and the new one is working for him now!
Just after I sent out the replacement I got the same "Login Failed" on mine. I also noticed I only had 1 bar, so I moved it up out of the bottom and place it on the same trail but on top of the hill. It showed 3 bars,loaded up and logged in. Works fine. Must have something to do with signal. Thought that might be his problem, but not!

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:56 pm
by nsparaco1
I have read through the above and still I have no resolution. I still have 'login fail' at the top right of the screen. I also have '-85 network busy' under Location in the GSM tab. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:07 am
by Anthony
I am not sure anyone here is still using this camera.

This is a UOvision camera. You may need to find a distributor for them or contact them directly. (I have never tried)

Re: "Login Error" on UM562. Advice?

Posted: Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:14 pm
by Gforce
I am running a Code Black which is the same Cam and uses the same program to set up the cam. You said there are 2 files on the card and for setup there should be 3, should be a "profile.bin" file on the card also. The cam erases the "profile.bin" file after it updates the cam. The best way I have found to run the setup is place the SD card it your computer and delete everything on the card, then run the setup program for the cam and save the "profile.bin" file to the SD card. At this point you will have only one file on the SD card. Place the SD card in the cam and turn the cam on to the setup and menu screen, you should see and update conformation then the cam will continue with the Login. The cam will rewrite the other 2 files and erase the "profile.bin" file. You can then go into the menu and set the perimeters you wish.