Acorn LTL6310M Wireless Camera Review

Acorn LTL6310M Wireless Camera/April 22, 2015

 

ImagesFactory SpecsCG ClassificationCG TestingSamplesSamples MMS
  • 5M/12M/2Mega pixel high-quality resolution.
  • Infrared night vision LEDs Low-glow 940nm 59feet/ 18m.
  • Timer setting, programmable to only work in specified period every day.
  • Multiple languages available by changing the country setting in MMS menu or PC software.
  • SD card can be set in “Cycling Save” mode, which automatically deletes the earliest photos or videos and makes room for new ones.
  • Get SMS Text alert when battery power level goes low.
  • 1440 x 1080 / 1280 x 720 / 640×480 H.264/AVC format HD video with audio.
  • Built-in 2.0 inch TFT color screen to review images and videos at the back of the camera.
  • 2G cellular
SpecificationValue
ClassOptics
CategoryScouting Cameras
Model Year2015
ManufacturerAcorn
ModelLTL-6310M
Flash TypeIR Red Low Glow
Battery Type12 AA
MSRP
Test PerformedResult
Flash Range60 feet with noise in the images
Trigger Time without flash0.87s - 0.93s
Trigger Time with flash1.25s
Video Trigger Time2.27s
Day RangeGood contrast. Natural color.
Battery Life550 photos delivered cellular. Another 1212 photos delivered without cellular. 210 video clips taken.
Filter ClunkVery faint twice a day
Invisible FlashYes, even though its called low glow, I dont see it.
Motion BlurAverage.
Sensing Test60+ feet at 80 degrees F


2015 Acorn LTL-6310M from Chasingame.com on Vimeo.

 

These are the 640×480 photos transmitted directly to my email and phone.

This is the new 2G cellular wireless camera offering by Acorn for 2015.  This is the low glow version with the 940nm LEDs.  In 2013 the Acorn cameras migrated away from the two-piece backpack style of enclosure to a single unit which was a definite improvement.  An area that I felt needed improving was the LED array which now supports more LEDs than models of previous years.  We will hope this means improved night vision.

The camera has two doors that open to reveal controls, unlike the camera in the front door style that is the norm.  There is a flap on the bottom to insert SD card, batteries and on/off switch.  On the back is a second flap that opens to reveal the view screen and buttons which appear to have a water proof membrane on them.

Obviously you must remove the camera from its lockbox and/or from the mounted position in order to open the back flap.

The camera runs on 12 AA batteries that are loaded from the base door.  The base “flap” door also has the threaded insert for tripod mount.  This same flap now has a recessed ridge that provides strength against flexing making me feel more comfortable about mounting this camera using the tripod mount. The way the bottom recesses also means that the external battery cable opening is not flush with the bottom in case it is sitting in water in a lockbox during a downpour.  I wonder if this was by design or an accidental feature .

It has the familiar front facing and dual side facing PIR sensors which are controllable in the menu settings.  The side PIR sensors can be turned off.

The camera uses a native 5MP CMOS sensor and interpolates up to 12MP if you so desire.  The video supports both 640x and a 1280x referred to as 720p and also HD.  The camera can record audio while in Video mode.  I did not find an option to turn off audio in the menu settings.

The 2″ screen allows for playback of both photos and video with audio.  For security the camera has a sturdy looking python through hole on the top back side.

As time allows, we will gather range pictures, trigger times, and photo and video samples.

 

Read what the community is saying!

 

Progress and Activity
04-22-2015 Update
Today I managed to capture a few test pictures in dappled sunlight on our range.  Pardon the missing deer head. Vandals made off with it and we are looking for a replacement.  The photos appear a little dark.  You must keep in mind though that our forest here in Georgia already has a full head of hair on it leaving little light for the forest floor.
04-24-2015 Update
Last night I tested the camera on the flash range and gathered several photos. The flash is good out 60 feet but I see a lot of noise in the image.  This is a typical side effect introduced in black flash cameras when the firmware is designed to add brightness.  The 940nm leds in a black flash type camera produce less usable light then an ir red flash camera and thus a longer exposure time is required.
04-26-2015 Update
I put the camera through its paces on the trigger testing bench today.  The camera has a decent trigger with out flash of an average of 0.90s.  Trigger with flash is 1.25s.  The video trigger time is 2.27s.
04-28-2015 Update
I updated the review with some photo samples for both day and night.  I had the camera aim a little high but the samples are still useful.  The day shots are very nice and the night are good for a black flash camera.  there is some obvious graininess to be expected from the 940nm LEDs.
05-02-2015 Update
I have switched this camera over to HD video with audio.
05-10-2015 Update
I left this camera a full week in HD video mode and captured a nice set of videos. But as murphy’s laws would have it, there was only one night video which I included in the video samples, while there were tons of day time videos. Why can’t this happen during deer season ? The video and audio quality is good but there is a slight fuzziness overall. I need more night videos samples but the one I did capture looked well illuminated.

I began the preparation to perform the Wireless Testing portion of this review this morning. I obtained a ptel.com SIM card with text messaging plan. I opened the bottom door and attempted to insert the SIM card. Unlike the documentation my sim card was simply swallowed up in the slot so deeply I cant reach it and there was no double click like you would expect. I am guessing I was to insert the sim card in sideways. This was just not clear in the documentation which just states “insert your sim card”. If thats not it then I am not sure what to do at this point. I have sent an email to OldBoys Outdoors, the US distributor for this camera, and asked for advice on this issue.

2015_acorn_6310_simslot

05-12-2015 Update
After a bit of research I now understand the mystery of the disappearing SIM card. The PTel.com card came in a pop out assembly. The first pop out was the full sized SIM card. Not thinking I then popped out the nano size from within the first pop out. So, to fix it I placed the nano card back within the card board piece it was in originally and placed scotch tape on the back to hold it in place. It seems to push in and out of the camera the way it is supposed to. My brain is finally in gear now and I will continue with the wireless set up.
05-14-2015 Update: MMS now Working
I completed the activation on my PTel.com prepaid SIM plan. Easy enough. I opened the included CD and placed it into the computer DVD drive. In a folder on the CD was the Setup tool. I ran the setup and captured these screens:

2015_REVIEWMEDIA_ACORN_LTL-6310M_00012015_REVIEWMEDIA_ACORN_LTL-6310M_0004 2015_REVIEWMEDIA_ACORN_LTL-6310M_0003 2015_REVIEWMEDIA_ACORN_LTL-6310M_0002

I input values only on the MMS setup screen as I did not need the SMTP and planned to use MMS messaging. I selected United States and T-Mobile. I input my cell phone number reluctantly and my email address.  I would really prefer to just get email but a phone number is required for MMS and the photos are delivered to both phone and email.  My option for email only would be the SMTP setup. No big deal as I have unlimited text messaging on my cell phone anyway. I performed a few tests in the house and the thumbnails are 640×480.  Tonight I will get the camera on a stand in the forest to capture some of those warm brown fuzzy creatures of the 4 legged variety.  I would have to say that the wireless setup portion of this review was easy but I have done this before and know what to expect.  I left remote control OFF for now which means I cant send commands to the camera to perform various actions but I will get better battery life which is my preference.  Just keep in mind that remote control keeps the camera semiconscious all the time, meaning that a portion of the cellular radio module is powered up to receive SMS commands.  You use your mobile phone and a messaging app to send commands to the phone number assigned to your SIM card. I will try and get a list of these commands and paste them here today.

05-16-2015 Update: MMS Photo samples
This camera has been doing fairly well thus far but did have a period yesterday midday where it stopped sending.  I performed walk tests and waved my hand in front of the camera and it would not send a photo.  However later on in the day it picked back up on its on. The photos sent indicate a battery level of 3 so its not a power issue.  This will require more research as time goes by and I will make note of this in future updates.
07-27-2015 Update: Battery Life
The camera finally stopped sending photos today.  The battery life results do not reflect 100% the number of photos that can be delivered on one set of alkaline batteries as I performed some weeks of testing with wireless turned off, taking both photos and video clips. Over a period of 3 months the camera delivered 550 photos via cellular and another 1212 photos delivered without cellular as well as 210 video clips. The cellular 2G function was flawless in my testing.  I look forward to a 3G camera from this company.  This review is closed.

 

0 Comments

Leave a reply

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

© 2015 Chasingame Technologies, LLC | created by WingCitySites

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?